Skip to content

Summer

June 7, 2011

We have been graced with the thickness of summer. My body and mind are accordingly sluggish, frustrating my desires to seize the sunshine. My summer projects include gardening and writing 3 articles for to submit for publication. Perhaps also knitting some baby booties. I have carrots, kale, arugula, tomatoes, spinach, beets, and beans planted in the garden plot; now I wait and water and coax. Today we also get our first CSA basket, which I am told will be small given the unusually cold spring: even radishes are not yet ready. The articles are equally slow going, although infinitely more frustrating, as I have more control over and less patience for them.

I may be making an unexpected trip to Davis this summer, though that remains unknown. In other travel, we spent time along the mississipi, near where it meets the wisconsin. For all the notions people have about the midwest, it is a beautiful place infused with history and intrigue. In a picture:

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

